Miscellaneous
Hydration and Sports

Overview:

  • When the body heats up during exercise, it tries to cool down through sweating. As a result, it loses water and salts through the skin. This can cause dehydration. Dehydration can affect performance and reduce strength (especially during prolonged exercise). Because the body cannot make or store water, you must replace the water you lose by drinking an adequate amount of fluid.
  • The volume of sweat produced varies from a person to another, depending on a variety of factors, including: The intensity and duration of the exercise, the environmental temperature, and the clothes a person is wearing while exercising. The average sweat rate is estimated at 0.5-2.0 liter/hour during exercise.
  • The average person should drink at least 2 liters of water a day. Athletes usually need more water than the average person.
  • Thirst is not a reliable way to find out if your body needs water. You will not feel thirsty until your body has lost about 2% of its weight; so be sure to drink water even when you are not feeling thirsty.

How to stay hydrated?
  • Drink plenty of fluids before, during, and after exercise, especially in hot weather to prevent dehydration. 
  • Drink small amounts of water more frequently instead of drinking larger amounts at once less frequently.
  • Use cold drinks to lower your body temperature and reduce sweating.
  • Track sweat loss by measuring weight before and after exercise. Try to replace the water you lose by drinking the same amount of fluids lost. Drink about 1.25-1.5 liters of water for every kilogram your body loses during exercise through sweat.
  • Pay attention to the amount and color of your urine. A large amount of clear urine indicates that the body is getting enough water. Small amounts of urine, or dark yellow or concentrated urine, indicate dehydration.
  • Water is the best option to stay hydrated, unless you have been doing intense exercise for over an hour. Water hydrates your body without the extra calories, sugars, or acids found in some sodas that can damage teeth.

Other drinks:
When partaking in prolonged and intense exercise (such as long-distance running, football, or competitive swimming) for longer than 60 minutes, there may be an added benefit in drinks that contain some carbohydrates and other electrolytes, including sodium. The following are examples of some drinks other than water that athletes can use:
  1. Sports drinks:
    • Sports drinks contain carbohydrates in the form of glucose, as well as electrolytes (such as: Sodium). 
    • Sodium replaces the sweat you lose and prevents dehydration. Glucose replenishes the body's carbohydrates stock.
    • Sports drinks help improve the performance and recovery of athletes who do prolonged endurance exercises (60 minutes or longer), such as a marathon.
    • However, similar to soft drinks, sports drinks contain sugars. They also contain high calories and can cause tooth decay. Sports drinks are recommended only if you are participating in endurance sports, or in cases of severe sweat loss.
  2. Milk: Milk can be used as a post-workout recovery drink. It contains minerals that replace the quantities the body loses through sweating. It also provides nutrients involved in muscle functions and bone health (such as: potassium and calcium).  Milk naturally contains high-quality protein and some carbohydrates in the form of lactose.
  3. Energy drinks: They are not designed to replace the electrolytes lost through sweat and may contain other ingredients with stimulant properties (such as: Caffeine). Moreover, some of them are high in sugars, which may lead to weight gain if consumed in excessive quantities. They can also cause tooth decay.


For inquiries, contact us by email.

 








Last Update : 04 October 2020 01:29 AM
Reading times :
Content Evaluation:
Satisfaction of visitors A sign of happiness
Satisfaction of visitors Completely satisfied Satisfied Neutral Not Satisfied Completely dissatisfied
This site can be viewed on all screen tones and all smart devices and supports all kinds of browsers
All Rights Reserved – Ministry of Health – Kingdom of Saudi Arabia ©

مواضيع مختلفة
ترطيب الجسم والرياضة


مقدمة:

ممارسة التمارين الرياضية تؤدي إلى رفع درجة حرارة الجسم، ولذلك يحاول الجسم أن يبرد عن طريق التعرق؛ مما يسبب فقدان الماء والأملاح من خلال الجلد، وحدوث الجفاف، وبالتالي يؤثر في الأداء، من خلال تقليل القوة (خاصة عند ممارسة التمارين لفترات أطول). ونظرًا لأن الجسم لا يستطيع صنع الماء أو تخزينه، يجب تعويض الماء الذي يفقد بشرب كمية كافية من السوائل.
  • ​يختلف مقدار التعرق من شخص لآخر باختلاف عوامل عدة منها: كثافة ومدة التمرين، ودرجة الحرارة البيئية، والملابس التي يرتديها الشخص أثناء التدريب، ويقدر متوسط معدل التعرق بين 0.5-2.0 لتر/ساعة أثناء التمرين.
  • يجب أن يشرب كل شخص ما لا يقل عن لترين من الماء يوميًّا، ويحتاج الرياضيون إلى المزيد.
  • العطش ليس طريقة موثوقة لمعرفة ما إذا كان الجسم بحاجة إلى الماء؛ حيث لن يبدأ الشعور بالعطش حتى يفقد نحو 2% من وزن الجسم؛ لذا يجب التأكد من شرب الماء حتى عند عدم الشعور بالعطش.

 إرشادات للحفاظ على الترطيب:
  • ​شرب الكثير من السوائل قبل وأثناء وبعد ممارسة الرياضة، خاصة في الطقس الحار؛ لمنع الجفاف. 
  • شرب كميات قليلة من الماء بشكل متكرر بدلاً من كميات كبيرة أقل.
  • شرب المشروبات الباردة لخفض درجة حرارة الجسم وتقليل التعرق.
  • تتبع فقدان العرق عن طريق قياس الوزن قبل التمرين وبعده، مع محاولة استبدال كمية الماء التي تم فقدها في العرق بشرب الكمية نفسها من السوائل، وذلك بشرب نحو 1.25-1.5 لتر من الماء لكل كيلوجرام من وزن الجسم يُفقد أثناء التمرين من خلال العرق.
  • الانتباه لكمية ولون البول؛ حيث تشير وجود كمية كبيرة من البول الصافي إلى أن الجسم يحصل على كمية كافية من الماء. كما تشير الكميات الصغيرة من البول، أو البول الأصفر الداكن أو المركز إلى الجفاف.
  • يعد الماء الخيار الأفضل ما لم يتم التدريب بكثافة عالية لأكثر من ساعة؛ لأنه يرطب دون الحصول على السعرات الحرارية الزائدة، أو السكريات، والأحماض الموجودة في بعض المشروبات الغازية التي يمكن أن تلحق الضرر بالأسنان.

المشروبات الأخرى:
عند ممارسة التمارين الطويلة والمكثفة (مثل الجري لمسافات طويلة، وألعاب كرة القدم، أو السباحة التنافسية لمدة أطول من 60 دقيقة، قد تكون هناك فائدة إضافية في تناول المشروبات التي تحتوي على بعض الكربوهيدرات، والإلكتروليتات الأخرى، بما في ذلك الصوديوم، وفيما يلي أمثلة لبعض المشروبات الأخرى، بخلاف المياه التي يمكن أن يستخدمها الرياضيون:

1.​المشروبات الرياضية:
  • ​تحتوي المشروبات الرياضية على كربوهيدرات على شكل جلوكوز، وكذلك إلكتروليتات (مثل: الصوديوم). 
  • يحل الصوديوم محل أي فقد من التعرق، ويمنع حدوث الجفاف. كما يعمل الجلوكوز على تجديد مخزون الكربوهيدرات في الجسم.
  • المشروبات الرياضية تساعد على أداء التحمل والتعافي للذين يؤدون تمارين التحمل لمدة أطول (60 دقيقة أو أكثر) على سبيل المثال، والمشاركة في سباق الماراثون.
ومع ذلك فإن المشروبات الرياضية تشبه المشروبات الغازية الأخرى التي تحتوي على السكريات؛ مما يؤدي إلى زيادة السعرات الحرارية، وحدوث تسوس الأسنان؛ لذا فهي مناسبة فقط عند المشاركة في رياضات التحمل عالية المستوى، أو إذا كان فقدان العرق مرتفعًا.

​2.الحليب:
يمكن استخدام الحليب كمشروب للتعافي بعد التمرين؛ حيث يحتوي على معادن يمكن أن تحل محل المفقودة عن طريق التعرق، فضلاً عن توفير العناصر الغذائية التي تدخل في وظيفة العضلات وصحة العظام (مثل: البوتاسيوم والكالسيوم). كما يحتوي بشكل طبيعي على بروتين عالي الجودة وبعض الكربوهيدرات على شكل لاكتوز.

3.مشروبات الطاقة: 
ليست مصممة لتعويض الإلكتروليتات المفقودة في العرق، وقد تحتوي على مكونات أخرى ذات خصائص منشطة (مثل: الكافيين)، ويحتوي بعضها على نسبة عالية من السكريات؛ مما قد يؤدي إلى زيادة الوزن إذا استهلكت بكميات زائدة. كما أنها يمكن أن تسبب تسوس الأسنان.


لمزيد من الاستفسار يرجى التواصل معنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني.









تقييم المحتوى
عدد القراءات
آخر تعديل 22 محرم 1442 هـ 11:59 ص
هل تجد هذا المحتوى مفيدًا ؟ نعم لا اقترح
مؤشر رضى الزوار مؤشر السعادة
مؤشر رضى الزوار راضي تماماً راضي حيادي غير راضي غير راضي تماماً
يدعم هذا الموقع جميع أنماط دقة الشاشة وكافة الأجهزة الذكية والمتصفحات
جميع الحقوق محفوظة – وزارة الصحة – المملكة العربية السعودية ©