Food and Nutrition
Ketogenic Diet (Keto)
 

Overview:

The ketogenic diet (or “keto”, for short) is a low-carb, high-fat diet. It involves drastically reducing carbohydrate intake and replacing it with fat. This reduction in carbs, according to experts, puts the body into a metabolic state called ketosis. When this happens, your body becomes incredibly efficient at burning fat for energy. It also turns fat into ketones in the liver, which can supply energy for the brain. Ketogenic diets can cause massive reductions in blood sugar and insulin levels. This, along with the increased ketones, has numerous health benefits.

Ketogenic diet (keto):
A low-carb, high-fat, moderate-protein diet that involves a drastic reduction in the carbohydrate intake (to less than 50 grams per day), and replacing it with fat and protein. This reduction in carbs, according to experts, puts the body into a metabolic state called ketosis.  

How does keto work?
Keto is a high-fat, moderate-protein and a very low-carb diet, with no more than 50 grams of carbohydrates per day, which is opposed to most recommendations and guidelines for healthy nutrition. That is because most of the foods rich in essential nutrients are sources of carbohydrates. These include fruits, vegetables, whole grains, milk and leben. Besides, carbohydrates are the main source of energy. When no sufficient carbohydrates are available, the body will start to break down fat into ketones. Whereupon, fat will serve function as the main source of energy, from which the heart, the kidneys, and the rest of the muscles, shall derive the energy necessary for their functioning. Besides, ketones will function as an alternative source of energy for the brain—which is why this diet is called “ketogenic” in the first place.
The ketogenic diet (keto):
  • Standard ketogenic diet (SKD): It is a very low-carb, high-fat, moderate-protein diet; at a daily macronutrient ratio of 70% fat, 20% protein, and 10% carbs.
  • Cyclical keto diet (CKD): This diet involves increasing carbohydrates at certain times. For example, one can follow keto for five days, and enjoy a more balanced diet, with higher carbohydrate intake, for two days.
  • Targeted keto diet (TKD): TKD allows increasing the carbohydrate intake at the times of vigorous physical activity.
  • High-protein keto diet (HPKD): HPKD involves increasing the protein intake, and adjusting the macronutrient ration to: 35% protein, 60% fat, and 5% carb.
Advantages and disadvantages of the ketogenic diet:
  • Advantages: 
Starting in 1924 as a treatment for epilepsy, the keto diet was subsequently associated with other advantages, including: fast weight-loss, control of type 2 diabetes, lowering the level of glycated hemoglobin, reducing the dose of sugar-lowering medications, and lowering the level of triglycerides in the blood.
According to the American Diabetes Association, several comparative studies have compared between the levels of glycated hemoglobin in individuals on a low-carb diet (e.g. keto), and individuals following a high-carb diet. The findings of those studies showed that the level of glycated hemoglobin is lower in the low-carb group than the high-carb group over a span of 3-6 months only, and is more or less the same over longer periods of time (one year or more).
Another study compared between the levels of glycated hemoglobin in individuals on a low-carb diet (e.g. keto), and individuals following a low-fat diet over a time span of six months. The findings showed that the level of glycated hemoglobin in the low-carb group is lower than the low-fat group.
  • Disadvantages: 
Keto is not recommended for individuals with any of the following medical conditions:
  • Pancreatitis
  • Liver diseases
  • Thyroid disorders
  • Eating disorders, or a history of eating disorders
  • Cholecystitis
  • Chronic kidney diseases 
  • Pregnancy
Besides, there are short-term and long-term health risks associated with the ketogenic diet. The short-term health risks associated with keto include: Flu-like symptoms (e.g. gastric disorders, headache, fatigue, dizziness (the so-called keto-flu), and sometimes sleep disorders.
Lowering the intake of vegetables, fruits, and the whole grains rich in fiber increases the risk of constipation. Sometimes, a person on keto will have to take fiber supplements, after consulting with a healthcare professional. The keto diet may also be diuretic, and lower the level of glucose in the blood. Therefore, it is essential to consult a nutritionist before following the keto diet, to avoid dehydration, and reduce the dose of insulin and other diabetes medicines, and hence to avoid too low blood sugar.
The long-term risks associated with keto, on the other hand, include: the risk of kidney stones, liver diseases, and deficiency of vitamins and minerals (e.g. folate, Vitamin A, Vitamin K, Vitamin H, etc.)

Final conclusions:
  • A balance of all nutrients should be stricken and with appropriate proportions. A too little intake of any nutrients can be harmful. All nutrients should be taken in amounts that are healthy and useful.
  • ​The research recommends the keto diet for treating epilepsy, under medical supervision; it is a very complicated treatment. As for treating obesity, losing weight, among other health benefits, keto remains under study.
  • For long-term diets, moderation should be maintained. However, studies have shown that the keto diet may be useful for achieving fast benefits, such as short-term weight-loss. On the long run, though, keto may increase the risk of diseases or death.
  • For a useful and convenient diet, consult with a nutritionist, who will design a programme that is appropriate for your body and health status, helps you lose weight, without prejudice to other health considerations.

Clinical Education General Department
For inquiries, contact us by email:






Content Evaluation
Reading times
Last Update 06 February 2020 02:38 PM
Do you find this content useful? Yes No Suggest
Satisfaction of visitorsA sign of happiness
Satisfaction of visitors Completely satisfied Satisfied Neutral Not Satisfied Completely dissatisfied
This site can be viewed on all screen tones and all smart devices and supports all kinds of browsers
All Rights Reserved – Ministry of Health – Kingdom of Saudi Arabia ©

الغذاء والتغذية
الحمية الكيتونية (الكيتو)


مقدمة:
الحمية الكيتونية (الكيتو)، نظام غذائي منخفض الكربوهيدرات وعالي الدهون، ويعتمد على الحد على نحو كبير من تناول الكربوهيدرات، واستبدال الدهون بها. ويرى المختصون أن خفض الكربوهيدرات يضع الجسم في حالة استقلابية تسمى الكيتوزية، فيصبح الجسم فعالًا في حرق الدهون، للحصول على الطاقة. كما أنه يحول الدهون إلى كيتونات في الكبد، والتي توفر الطاقة للدماغ. ويمكن للوجبات الغذائية الكيتونية أن تسبب انخفاضًا كبيرًا في مستويات السكر، والأنسولين في الدم، بالإضافة إلى عدد من الفوائد الصحية الأخرى.
الحمية الكيتونية (الكيتو):
نظام غذائي منخفض الكربوهيدرات، عالي الدهون، والبروتين، يتضمّن التقليل من تناول الكربوهيدرات على نحو كبير (أقل من 50 جرامًا في اليوم)، واستبدال الدهون، والبروتين بها، وهذا ما يضع الجسم في حالة استقلابية تسمى الحالة الكيتونية، أو الخلونية (الكيتوزية).
كيف تعمل حمية الكيتو؟
النظام الغذائي الكيتوني نمط غني بالدهون، معتدل في نسبة البروتين، ومنخفض جدًا في نسبة الكربوهيدرات؛ بحيث تكون أقل من 50 جرامًا يوميًّا، وهو ما يخالف معظم توصيات التغذية الصحية العامة. وتُعد معظم الأطعمة الغنية بالمغذيات مصادر مهمة للكربوهيدرات، بما في ذلك الفواكه، والخضراوات، والحبوب الكاملة، والحليب، واللبن، كما أن الكربوهيدرات هي المصدر الرئيس الذي يمد الجسم بالطاقة. وعند عدم توفر كمية كافية من الكربوهيدرات؛ للحصول على الطاقة، فإن الجسم يعمل على تكسير الدهون، ويحيلها إلى كيتونات. وتصبح الكيتونات هي مصدر الطاقة الرئيس للجسم؛ حيث توفر الطاقة للقلب، والكلى، والعضلات الأخرى. كما يستخدم الجسم الكيتونات مصدرًا بديلًا للطاقة في المخ، ومن هنا أتى اسم الحمية (الكيتونية).
نظم الحمية الكيتونية: 
  • النظام الكيتوني التقليدي، أو القياسي: يعتمد هذا النوع على انخفاض الكربوهيدرات بدرجة عالية، واعتدال نسبة البروتين، وارتفاع نسبة الدهون. وعادةً ما توزع نسب الاحتياجات اليومية إلى 70% من الدهون، و20% من البروتين، و10% من الكربوهيدرات.
  • النظام الكيتوني الدوري: يتضمن هذا النظام زيادة نسبة تناول الكربوهيدرات لفترات معينة، مثل: اتباع الحمية الكيتونية لخمسة أيام، ثم يليها اتباع نظام غذائي ذي محتوى عالٍ من الكربوهيدرات ليومين فقط.
  • النظام الكيتوني المستهدف: يسمح هذا النظام الغذائي بزيادة كمية الكربوهيدرات الإضافية في أثناء فترات النشاط البدني المكثف فقط.
  • النظام الكيتوني عالي البروتين: يتضمن نسبة أعلى من البروتين، التي غالبًا ما تكون 35% من البروتين، و60% من الدهون، و5% من الكربوهيدرات.
فوائد الحمية الكيتونية وأضرارها:
الفوائد:
بدأ اتباع حمية الكيتو في عام 1924م؛ لعلاج الصرع، ولكن اكتشفت لها فوائد أخرى لاحقًا، مثل: فقدان الوزن السريع، والتحكم في داء السكري من النوع الثاني، وتقليل الهيموجلوبين السكري، وجرعات الأدوية المخفضة لسكر الدم، وتقليل الدهون الثلاثية في الدم على نحو كبير.
وطبقا للجمعية الأمريكية للسكري، فقد أجريت دراسات للمقارنة بين نسبة الهيموجلوبين السكري لأفراد يتبعون حمية غذائية نمطها قلة الكربوهيدرات، مثل: الكيتو، وحمية أخرى نمطها زيادة الكربوهيدرات. وكانت النتيجة حدوث انخفاض في نسبة الهيموجلوبين السكري لدى أفراد الحمية منخفضة الكربوهيدرات، مقارنة بالحمية مرتفعة الكربوهيدرات لمدة تراوحت بين ثلاثة وستة أشهر فقط، لكن النسب كانت متساوية عندما أجريت الدراسة لمدة سنة، أو أكثر.
كما أجريت دراسة أخرى للمقارنة بين نسبة الهيموجلوبين السكري لأفراد يتبعون حمية غذائية نمطها قلة الكربوهيدرات، مثل: الكيتو، وحمية أخرى نمطها قلة الدهون لمدة ستة أشهر. وكانت النتيجة حدوث انخفاض في نسبة الهيموجلوبين السكري لدى أفراد الحمية منخفضة الكربوهيدرات، مقارنة بالحمية منخفضة الدهون.
الأضرار:
لا ينصح باتباع الحمية الكيتونية للأشخاص الذين يعانون من التالي:
  • مرض البنكرياس.
  • أمراض الكبد.
  • مشكلات الغدة الدرقية.
  • اضطرابات الأكل، أو تاريخ من اضطرابات الأكل.
  • التهابات المرارة.
  • أمراض الكلى المزمنة. 
  • الحوامل.
وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك مخاطر صحية قصيرة الأجل، وطويلة الأجل لجميع الأشخاص الذين يتبعون الحمية الكيتونية. ومن بعض مخاطرها الصحية قصيرة المدى: أعراض تشبه إعراض الإنفلونزا، مثل: اضطرابات المعدة، والصداع، والتعب ونوبات الدوار، وهذا ما يسمى (إنفلونزا كيتو)، كما أن بعض الأشخاص يعانون مشكلات في النوم.
إن الإقلال من تناول الخضراوات، والفواكه، والحبوب الكاملة الغنية بالألياف، يمكن أن يزيد من خطر الإصابة بالإمساك. وفي كثير من الأحيان، يجب على من يتبع حمية الكيتو تناول مكملات الألياف، ولكن ينبغي مناقشة هذا الأمر مع أحد مقدمي الرعاية الصحية. كما يمكن أن تزيد حمية الكيتو من إدرار البول، وتقلل بسرعة نسبة الجلوكوز في الدم؛ لذلك، فإن استشارة اختصاصي التغذية قبل بداية الحمية أمر ضروري؛ لمنع الجفاف، وتقليل جرعة الأنسولين، وأدوية السكر؛ لمنع حدوث انخفاض السكر في الدم.
من ناحية أخرى، فإن المخاطر الصحية طويلة المدى لحمية الكيتو تشمل: تكون حصيات الكلى، وأمراض الكبد، ونقص الفيتامينات، والمعادن، مثل: الفولات، وفيتامين (أ)، وفيتامين (ك)، وفيتامين(هـ).
التوصيات النهائية:
  • يجب التوازن بين جميع العناصر الغذائية المتناولة، وبكميات مناسبة للجسم، ودون تقليل عنصر بذاته يصل إلى حد الضرر؛ بحيث يتم تناول العناصر الغذائية جميعها بما يحقق للجسم الصحة، والفائدة.
  • تدعم الأبحاث اتباع حمية الكيتو في علاج الصرع بمتابعة فريق طبي؛ فهو علاج معقد للغاية. أما اتباعها لعلاج السمنة، وفقد الوزن، وغيرها من الفوائد الصحية، فلا يزال تحت البحث، والدراسة.
  • الاعتدال هو الأساس مع اتباع أي حمية غذائية طويلة الأجل، أما بالنسبة لحمية الكيتو فإن الدراسات أثبتت لها فوائد سريعة، مثل: نقصان الوزن على المدى القصير. ولكن من الممكن أن تزيد حمية الكيتو من معدل الإصابة بالمرض، والوفيات على المدى الطويل.
  • لاتباع حمية غذائية مفيدة، وصحية للجسم، يجب استشارة اختصاصي التغذية؛ لإعداد برنامج يفيد في فقد الوزن بناءً على الاحتياج، والأهداف الصحية.

 
الإدارة العامة للتثقيف الإكلينيكي
لمزيد من الاستفسارات، يرجى التواصل معنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني​

تقييم المحتوى
عدد القراءات
آخر تعديل 14 ربيع الثاني 1441 هـ 07:45 ص
هل تجد هذا المحتوى مفيدًا ؟ نعم لا اقترح
مؤشر رضى الزوار مؤشر السعادة
مؤشر رضى الزوار راضي تماماً راضي حيادي غير راضي غير راضي تماماً
يدعم هذا الموقع جميع أنماط دقة الشاشة وكافة الأجهزة الذكية والمتصفحات
جميع الحقوق محفوظة – وزارة الصحة – المملكة العربية السعودية ©