National Osteoporosis Awareness Campaign
About the Campaign
   In order to keep osteoporosis away from you, it is crucially important to maintain healthy food habits and lifestyles. Many people hold the wrong supposition that osteoporosis occurs owing to the low intake of calcium only. In fact, many nutrients, like vitamins (D, C, E, K, etc.), minerals (magnesium, phosphorus, manganese, etc.) and proteins, aside from some other factors, like sport and exposure to the sunlight, are necessary for the prevention of osteoporosis.
 
 
 
The incidence of osteoporosis has been increasing in the West, insomuch as one of every three over-fifty women suffers from the disease. In the United States, more than 30% of the women over 65 suffer from at least one spinal fracture, and more than 250.000 persons have pelvic fracture every year, out of which 20% die out of the complications.
And those who survive death, still, will be inflicted with disability, and need intensive health care for a long time. Aside from death and disability, osteoporosis overburdens the country with massive costs, to afford the medical and economic care for patients.
So far, the magnitude of osteoporosis in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia is not identified. Many physicians and specialists, however, are of the viewpoint that osteoporosis patients among Saudis are on the increase‏, due to the alteration of Saudi's lifestyle and food habits. This increase, they expect, will continue unless effective steps towards the prevention of the disease are taken soon.
 
 
 
A study conducted at King Khaled University Hospital has shown that 58% of Saudi pre-menopausal women suffer from osteoporosis.
 
 
Content Evaluation
Reading times
Last Update 11 February 2012 12:51 PM
Do you find this content useful? Yes No Suggest
Satisfaction of visitorsA sign of happiness
Satisfaction of visitors Completely satisfied Satisfied Neutral Not Satisfied Completely dissatisfied
This site can be viewed on all screen tones and all smart devices and supports all kinds of browsers
All Rights Reserved – Ministry of Health – Kingdom of Saudi Arabia ©

الحملة الوطنية للتوعية بمرض هشاشة العظام
الصفحة الرئيسية


للعادات الغذائية وأساليب المعيشة الجيدة أهمية كبرى للوقاية من هشاشة العظام, وكثير من الناس ‏يعتقدون أن هشاشة العظام ناتجة فقط عن نقص الكالسيوم في الوجبات الغذائية وهذا ليس صحيحاً, لأن ‏هنالك عناصر وفيتامينات مثل فيتامين (د,جـ , هـ , ك , ...) وبعض المعادن مثل ( المغنسيوم , ‏الفسفور,المنجنيز,...) والبروتينات وهذه العناصر الغذائية لها أدوار حيوية في الوقاية عن هشاشة العظام ‏بالإشتراك مع عوامل أخرى كالرياضة والتعرض لأشعة الشمس ....‏
 
 
زادت نسبة انتشار الإصابة بمرض هشاشة العظام في البلاد الغربية، حيث أصبحت تصاب بها ‏واحدة من أصل ثلاث سيدات فوق الخمسين.في الولايات المتحدة أكثر من 30% من النساء اكبر ‏من 65 تصاب بواحد أو أكثر من كسور في العمود الفقري، وأكثر من 250.000 شخص ‏يصابوا بكسر في عظم الحوض كل عام ، ومن هؤلاء 20% يتوفون من المضاعفات. ‏

والناجين منهم يصابوا بالعجز ويحتاجون إلى علاج وعناية لفترة طويلة من الزمن. ليس فقط ما ‏يسببه الإصابة بهشاشة العظام هو العجز والوفاة، ولكنه يحمل الدولة العبئ الكثير من العناية ‏الطبية والاقتصادية.‏
لم تتضح مدى حجم المشكلة بشكل واضح في المملكة العربية السعودية. ولكن بدى واضح لدى ‏الكثير من الأطباء والاخصايئين ببدء زيادة في مرضى هشاشة العظام،ويعتقد سببها التغير في ‏سلوك الحياة والمعيشة والعادات الغذائية، مما يجعلهم يتوقعون أن الزيادة ستسمر إذا لم تتخذ ‏خطوات جدية نحو الوقاية من هذا المرض.‏
 
 
 
في دراسة أجريت في مستشفى الملك خالد الجامعي أتضح أن 58% من النساء ما قبل سن اليأس ‏من النساء السعوديات يعانون من مرض وهن و هشاشة العظام.‏
 
آخر تعديل : 19 جمادى الثانية 1436 هـ 03:06 م
عدد القراءات :

جميع الحقوق محفوظة – وزارة الصحة – المملكة العربية السعودية ©