Women's Health

Dysmenorrhea

​​​What is dysmenorrhea?

Dysmenorrhea, also known as menstrual cramps or period pain, is a pain occurring in the lower abdomen. It is one of the most common conditions among women. Most women suffer dysmenorrhea during teenage and may last for four or five years after the first menstrual period (menarche). Dysmenorrhea may affect the daily activities of some women for several days every month.

Types:
  • Primary dysmenorrhea: Repetitive menstrual cramps that occur on a monthly basis, but are not considered a medical condition. Period pain usually occurs on the day of menstruation, or one or two days earlier. Occurring in the lower abdomen, back or hips, period pain is usually mild to severe, lasts for 12-72 hours, and may be associated with nausea, vomiting, fatigue, and diarrhea. 
  • Secondary dysmenorrhea: This type of dysmenorrhea is usually caused by a disorder in a woman’s reproductive organs. Some of these conditions include endometritis endometriosis, fibroids, cysts or infection. The pain usually starts earlier in the menstrual cycle and lasts longer than primary dysmenorrhea. It is not usually associated with vomiting, nausea, fatigue or diarrhea.
Cause:
Dysmenorrhea occurs due to cramps (contractions) in the uterus, due to prostaglandins—a substance the uterus makes.  If it contracts too strongly during your menstrual cycle, it can press against nearby blood vessels. This briefly cuts off the supply of oxygen to the uterus. It’s this lack of oxygen that causes your pain and cramping. Dysmenorrhea can also be attributed to the following medical conditions:
  • Endometriosis: It refers to the abnormal growth of endometrial cells (the lining of the uterus) into the two fallopian tubes, ovaries or the lining tissue of the pelvis.
  • Uterine fibroids: Benign (non-cancerous) growths in the womb may be a source of pain.
  • Pelvic inflammatory disease: Caused by inflammation in the woman’s reproductive organs, owing to sexually transmitted infection (STI).
  • Cervical stenosis: The cervical opening in some women is too narrow to allow the menstrual discharge to get out of the body, and hence causes a painful increase of pressure on the uterine wall.
Symptoms:
  • Pain and/or cramps in the lower abdomen (sometimes, the pain is acute). The pain usually starts at the beginning of, or prior to, menstruation. It may also occur 24 after the onset of menstruation, and lasts for 2-3 days.
  • Pain in the thighs, lower back, and hips
  • Nausea
  • Headache
  • Dizziness
  • Diarrhea
Diagnosis:
Your doctor will review your medical history and perform a physical exam, including a pelvic exam. During the pelvic exam, your doctor will check for abnormalities in your reproductive organs and look for signs of infection. If your doctor suspects that a disorder is causing your menstrual cramps, he or she may recommend other tests (e.g. ultrasound) to create an image of your uterus, cervix, fallopian tubes and ovaries.

Treatment:
To ease your menstrual cramps, your doctor might recommend:
  • Pain relievers: Pain relievers, such as ibuprofen, at regular doses, help control the pain of cramps. Such pain relievers are usually administered over-the-counter.  Start taking the pain reliever at the beginning of your period, or as soon as you feel symptoms, and continue taking the medicine as directed for two to three days, or until your symptoms are gone.
  • Hormonal birth control:
  • Hormonal intrauterine device (IUD), or oral birth control pills, contain hormones that prevent ovulation and reduce the severity of menstrual cramps—especially the cramps associated with primary dysmenorrhea. The doctor may prescribe medical treatment if the need arises. 
  • Surgery: 
  • If your menstrual cramps are caused by a disorder such as endometriosis or fibroids, surgery to correct the problem might help your symptoms. Surgical removal of the uterus also might be an option if other approaches fail to ease your symptoms and if you're not planning to have children.
Guidelines for women with dysmenorrhea:
To help relieve menstrual pain, it is recommended to: 
  • Apply warm compresses to the lower abdomen;
  • Exercise;
  • Take a warm bath;
  • Do relaxation activities (e.g. yoga, meditation, etc);
  • Take over-the-counter pain relievers;
  • Get sufficient rest;
  • Avoid smoking (both positive and negative);
  • Avoid stress—it can increase and worsen the menstrual pain;
  • Consume less caffeine as it causes stress.
It is also advisable to keep a record of menstruation dates and the accompanying symptoms to help diagnose problems when they arise.

Clinical Education General Department
For inquiries, contact us by email​:



Last Update : 05 August 2021 04:11 PM
Reading times :

All Rights Reserved – Ministry of Health – Kingdom of Saudi Arabia ©

صحة المرأة
عسر الحيض
​تعريف عسر الحيض:
عسر الحيض، ألم أو تشنج ذو صلة بالحيض، ويكون في أسفل البطن، وهو من أكثر مشكلات المرأة شيوعًا. وتعاني معظم النساء عسر الطمث خلال فترة المراهقة، وقد يستمر لفترة أربع، أو خمس سنوات من الدورة الشهرية الأولى. وقد تؤثر تشنجات الحيض الشديدة في أنشطة بعضهن اليومية لبضعة أيام من كل شهر.

الأنواع:
  1. عسر الحيض الأولي: هو تقلصات الدورة الشهرية الشائعة المتكررة، ولا تحدث بسبب حالات مرضية. ويبدأ الألم - عادةً - قبل يوم أو يومين من الدورة، أو عندما يبدأ الحيض. ويكون الألم في أسفل البطن، أو الظهر، أو الفخذين. ويتراوح الألم بين المعتدل والحاد، ويستمر بين 12 و72 ساعة، وقد يصاحبه غثيان، وقيء، وإرهاق؛ بل وإسهال. 
  2. عسر الحيض الثانوي: هو الألم الناجم عن اضطراب في الأعضاء التناسلية للمرأة، مثل: التهاب بطانة الرحم، أو العدوى، أو أورام الرحم الليفية، أو بطانة الرحم المهاجرة (انتباذ بطانة الرحم). ويبدأ الألم في عسر الحيض الثانوي في وقت سابق من الدورة الشهرية، ويستمر لفترة أطول من تقلصات الحيض الشائعة، كما لا يُصاحب آلامه - عادةً - الغثيان، أو القيء، أو الإرهاق، أو الإسهال.

السبب:
تحدث تشنجات الدورة الشهرية بسبب تقلصات (شد) في الرحم (عضلة في جسم المرأة)، بوساطة مادة كيميائية تسمى البروستاغلاندين.  وإذا كان الرحم ينقبض بقوة، فإنه يضغط على الأوعية الدموية المجاورة، مما يؤدي إلى قطع إمدادات الأكسجين عن أنسجة الرحم العضلية. وينتج الألم عندما يفقد جزء من العضلة إمدادات الأكسجين لفترة وجيزة. كما يمكن أن تحدث تشنجات الحيض بسبب:
  • بطانة الرحم المهاجرة: وتعرف - أيضًا - باسم انتباذ بطانة الرحم، وفيها يخرج جزء من النسيج المُبطن للرحم، وينغرس بقناتي فالوب، أو المبيضين، أو النسيج المبطن للحوض.
  • الأورام الليفية الرحمية: قد تصبح الزوائد غير السرطانية في جدار الرحم مصدر ألم.
  • مرض التهاب الحوض: يحدث هذا الالتهاب في الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية نتيجة بكتيريا منقولة جنسيًّا.
  • التضيق العنقي: قد تكون فتحة عنق الرحم لدى بعض النساء صغيرة للغاية، إلى درجة تعيق التدفق الحيضي؛ ما يُؤدي إلى زيادة مؤلمة في الضغط داخل الرحم.
الأعراض:
  1. ألم، أو تشنج في أسفل البطن (قد يكون الألم شديدًا في بعض الأحيان). ويبدأ الألم قبل الدورة الشهرية، أو في بدايتها. وقد يحدث بعد 24 ساعة من بداية الدورة الشهرية، ويستمر لمدة تتراوح بين يومين وثلاثة أيام.
  2. ألم في الوركين، وأسفل الظهر، والفخذين.
  3. الغثيان.
  4. الصداع.
  5. الدوخة.
  6. الإسهال.
التشخيص:
يراجع الطبيب التاريخ الطبي للمرأة، ويجري لها فحصًا سريريًّا، بما في ذلك فحص الحوض. ومن خلال فحص الحوض، سيتحقق الطبيب من وجود خلل في الأعضاء التناسلية، والبحث عن علامات العدوى. كما قد يوصي بإجراء اختبارات أخرى كالتصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية؛ لإنشاء صورة للرحم، وعنق الرحم، وقناتي فالوب، والمبيضين.

العلاج:
لتخفيف تشنجات الدورة الشهرية؛ قد يوصي الطبيب بما يلي:
  • مسكنات الألم: يقلل تناول بعض هذه الأدوية مثل الأيبوبروفين، وبجرعات منتظمة حدة آلام التشنجات. ولا يحتاج الحصول على هذه المسكنات وصفة طبية.  وتبدأ المرأة باستعمال المسكنات في بداية دورتها الشهرية، أو عند الشعور بأعراض الألم. وتستمر في تناولها بحسب توجيهات طبيبها لمدة يومين إلى ثلاثة أيام، أو حتى تختفي الأعراض.

  • استخدام وسائل منع الحمل الهرمونية: يحتوي اللولب المعالج بالهرمونات، أو حبوب منع الحمل عن طريق الفم، على هرمونات تمنع التبويض، وتقلل من شدة ألم تشنجات الحيض، خصوصًا إذا كان ألم الدورة الشهرية هو عسر الطمث الأولي. وإذا كانت المرأة تحتاج إلى علاج طبي، فقد يقترحه طبيبها.

  • العملية الجراحية: تساعد الجراحة في التخلص من الأعراض المصاحبة لعسر الطمث الثانوي، مثل بطانة الرحم المهاجرة (انتباذ بطانة الرحم)، أو الأورام الليفية بالرحم. وقد يكون الاستئصال الجراحي للرحم - أيضًا - خيارًا مناسبًا إذا فشلت الطرق الأخرى في تخفيف الأعراض، أو إذا لم تكن المرأة تُخطط لإنجاب أطفال.

إرشادات لمن تعاني عسر الحيض:
للمساعدة في تخفيف آلام الدورة الشهرية، تُوصى المرأة باتباع ما يلي: 
  1. استخدام كمادات دافئة، ووضعها في أسفل البطن.
  2. ممارسة بعض التمارين الرياضية.
  3. أخذ حمام ساخن.
  4. اتباع أساليب الاسترخاء، بما في ذلك اليوغا، والتأمل، وغيرهما.
  5. تناول مسكنات الألم التي يتم الحصول عليها دون وصفة طبية.
  6. الحصول على قسطٍ كاف من الراحة.
  7. تجنب التدخين المباشر، أو التدخين السلبي.
  8. الحد من التوتر؛ حيث قد يزيد الإجهاد النفسي من تقلصات الدورة الشهرية، وشدتها.
  9. التقليل من تناول الكافيين؛ لأنه يسبب التوتر.
كما يُنصح بمراقبة، وتدوين مواعيد الحيض، والآلام المصاحبة له في جدول؛ لتسهيل تشخيص المشكلات عند ظهورها.

الإدارة العامة للتثقيف الإكلينيكي
لمزيد من الاستفسارات، يرجى التواصل معنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني:​

تقييم المحتوى
عدد القراءات
آخر تعديل 26 جمادى الأولى 1441 هـ 10:02 ص
هل تجد هذا المحتوى مفيدًا ؟ نعم لا اقترح
مؤشر رضى الزوار مؤشر السعادة
مؤشر رضى الزوار راضي تماماً راضي حيادي غير راضي غير راضي تماماً
يدعم هذا الموقع جميع أنماط دقة الشاشة وكافة الأجهزة الذكية والمتصفحات
جميع الحقوق محفوظة – وزارة الصحة – المملكة العربية السعودية ©