MOH Publications
National Plan for Osteoporosis Prevention and Management in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

​​​​Osteoporosis is widespread global problem, as one in three women and one in five men aged 50 years and over suffer osteoporosis. It has attracted much attention in the last two decades all over the world. Being a silent disease, it goes undetected many a times. Due to its prevalence worldwide, osteoporosis is considered a serious public health concern. According to the International Osteoporosis Foundation, osteoporosis affects an estimated 75 million people in Europe, USA and Japan, and causes, more than 8.9 million fractures annually worldwide, resulting in an osteoporotic fracture every 3 seconds. 


The prevalence of osteoporosis and osteopenia in Saudi Arabia (KSA) is 37.8% and 28.2% in men and women above the age of 50 years. Vitamin D deficiency remains the major risk factor of the disease in this country.

Leveraging multiple sources of information and global experts, a work team of the Ministry of Health (MOH) has developed the National Plan for Osteoporosis Prevention and Management in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia 2018. This Plan includes a brief summary of recommendations to better manage and prevent osteoporosis in KSA.




Content Evaluation
Reading times
Last Update 24 April 2019 01:00 PM
Do you find this content useful? Yes No Suggest
Satisfaction of visitorsA sign of happiness
Satisfaction of visitors Completely satisfied Satisfied Neutral Not Satisfied Completely dissatisfied
This site can be viewed on all screen tones and all smart devices and supports all kinds of browsers
All Rights Reserved – Ministry of Health – Kingdom of Saudi Arabia ©

إصدارات وتقارير الوزارة
الخطة الوطنية لإدارة ومكافحة هشاشة العظام بالمملكة العربية السعودية
يعد مرض هشاشة العظام مشكلة منتشرة عالميًّا؛ حيث يصيب امرأة من بين كل ثلاث نساء، ورجلاً من بين كل خمسة رجال تزيد أعمارهم على 50 عامًا، ولقد استقطب هذا المرض اهتمامًا عالميًا كبيرًا في العقدين الأخيرين. كونه مرضًا صامتًا؛ فإنه لا يتم اكتشافه في العديد من الحالات، ونظرًا لانتشاره في جميع أنحاء العالم، فإنه يشكل خطرًا على الصحية العامة. ووفقًا للمؤسسة الدولية لهشاشة العظام، فإن هشاشة العظام تصيب ما يُقدَّر بنحو 75 مليون شخص في أوروبا، والولايات المتحدة، واليابان، كما يتسبب سنويًا في أكثر من 8.9 مليون كسر بسبب هشاشة العظام كل 3 ثوانٍ في جميع أنحاء العالم.

وينتشر مرض هشاشة العظام ونقص كثافتها في المملكة العربية السعودية بنسبة 37.8 ٪ و28.2 ٪ بين الرجال والنساء الذين تزيد أعمارهم على 50 عامًا، ولا يزال نقص فيتامين (د) يُشكِّل أحد عوامل الخطورة الرئيس للإصابة بالمرض في هذه البلاد.
بالاستفادة من مصادر متعددة للمعلومات وخبراء عالميين، قام فريق من الوزارة بعمل خطة وطنية لمكافحة هشاشة العظام في المملكة العربية السعودية لعام 2018م، والتي تتضمن مجموعة من التوصيات من أجل مكافحة هذا المرض بشكل أفضل في المملكة العربية السعودية.


تقييم المحتوى
عدد القراءات
آخر تعديل 19 شعبان 1440 هـ 10:44 ص
هل تجد هذا المحتوى مفيدًا ؟ نعم لا اقترح
مؤشر رضى الزوار مؤشر السعادة
مؤشر رضى الزوار راضي تماماً راضي حيادي غير راضي غير راضي تماماً
يدعم هذا الموقع جميع أنماط دقة الشاشة وكافة الأجهزة الذكية والمتصفحات
جميع الحقوق محفوظة – وزارة الصحة – المملكة العربية السعودية ©