MOH Publications
Press Report on the MOH's Efforts Regarding Raising People's Awareness of Diabetes
The Ministry of Health (MOH), through its strategic plan, is keen to apply the modern methodological and scientific methods, in quest of building a healthy, better community enjoying health and safety. Raising the public health awareness, and reduction of the spread of diseases have been, and will continue to be the among the top priorities of the Government of the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques, King Abdulallah bin Abdulaziz, May Allah protect him.
 
In this context, and under the auspices of his Excellency the Minister of Health, Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Rabeeah, the MOH launching the National Program for Diabetes Combat in its first stage, which is to include the entire regions and governorates of the Kingdom. This Program aims at reinforcing and disseminating the general health awareness, and the reduction of disease spread. Thus, the Ministry of Health (MOH) has adopted an objective approach in all fields of health-service providing: prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation; through a system of self-contained facilities, in an endeavor to realize a comprehensive health security for all.
 
Launching this campaign is part of a series of health awareness campaigns which the Ministry of Health launches nationwide, and which comes through the MOH's strategy to improve and develop the health care services at all levels. 
 
The National Executive Plan of Diabetes Control "2010-2020" 
The Ministry of Health (MOH) has approved a national ten-year executive plan to control diabetes "2010-2020", as recourse in protecting the Saudi community from this disease. It is the plan which is based upon the full participation of the Government, and the entire private institutions. Also, the plan focuses on increasing and boosting up the health awareness among the Saudi community individuals on diabetes, and the risk factors which increase potential of getting injured with it. It is also to work on developing outdated detection programs and reducing the chances of getting injured with this disease and its complications. Seven major objectives are set for the National Executive Plan:
 
  • First Objective: Primary prevention of the second type diabetes and reduction the injury chance rates with the disease through combatting risk factors leading to getting injured with this disease.
 
  • Second Objective: Secondary prevention of the second type diabetes by way of early detecting the disease and its complications, and preventing it through the good control of blood sugar.

 

  • Third Objective: Developing the quality of the health services through their three levels which are provided to the patients who suffer from diabetes and its complications. This is through unified, new evidence-based treatment to be applied by the medical team during its direct care for diabetics. In doing so, the Ministry aims at guaranteeing high quality in work procedures; through verifying of the quality of these services, and preparing a unified guideline accredited as a reference to get familiarized with the regulations which govern the three health care levels.  
 
  • Fourth Objective: Developing detection methods, and following up and evaluating patients through diabetes case registration programs, the scope of conformity to the work quality levels, annual follow-up registers, patient interviews, and patients' health care registers.
 
  • Fifth Objective:Creating and developing the research tools and studies related to the disease. 

 

  • Sixth Objective: Enabling diabetics and their families to contribute to controlling diabetes and its complications, participating in the services provided, and evaluating the quality of these services. 
 
  • Seventh Objective: Community participation in controlling diabetes
 
The Saudi National Program of Education against Diabetes:  
Pursuant to the National Executive Plan of Diabetes Control, the Ministry of Health (MOH) has launched the Saudi National Program of Education against Diabetes. This Program works at all levels: the health care officials and professionals, diabetics, and the Saudi public in general. The Program aims at having the health care officials engaged in applying it, and enabling diabetic patients to use treatment tools, which include blood glucosemonitoring devices, diabetes self-care education programs, online training programs, and increasing the general awareness for all the Saudi community segments on diabetes through active community participation. 
 
 
Number of Specialized Centers: 
The Kingdom's number of diabetes specialized centers is 20 centers, pertaining to the Ministry of Health (MOH). In addition, establishing eight new centers is underway, which will add a great deal to the total capacity in the entire Kingdom's regions and governorates. The Ministry of Health (MOH), through the Diabetes Centers and Units Department, under the Hospitals General Department, is keen to provide the best health services for diabetics, promote the health awareness of every person affected by or prone to diabetes in the future, as well as providing the best health and educational services.
 
Nature and Impact of the Disease: 
Diabetes is a chronic disease; it is caused by either the failure of pancreas to produce the insulin hormone in adequate quantity, or the inability of the body to use the insulin which it produces.
 
There are two types of diabetes; the second-type diabetes makes up 90% of the diabetic patient cases in the Kingdom. And for the most part, unhealthy nutritional habits, lack of exercise, and obesity spread are the causes of the incidence and aggravation of this disease.
 
Sometimes, diabetes is called "the silent killer", as in most cases, the symptoms of this disease do not abruptly develop. And it could go unnoticed for a long time. In addition to this, sharp blood glucose rise, the common result of not controlling diabetes inside the body over time, leads to causing serious damage for several organs of the body, especially the nerves and blood vessels.
 
Over time, diabetes can cause damage to the heart, blood vessels, eye, kidney, and nerves, aside from increasing the risk of getting injured with cardiac diseases and strokes. Also, diabetic retinopathy is one of the main reasons leading to blindness; it is caused as a result of the long term accumulation of the harm which the small blood vessels in retina sustain. Thus, living with diabetes for 15 years afflicts 2% of the patients with blindness, and over 10% is afflicted with serious cases of visual impairment. And over 80% of diabetic deaths take place in the low and medium income countries.
 
There is a case known as "the diabetic foot"; it is characterized by sensual impairment, unhealed ulcers, osteomalacia, gangrene, and other complications resulting from nerve damage; and lack of blood flow in foot, as a result of diabetes.
 
 
 
Magnitude of the Problem: 
The estimates of the World Health Organization (WHO) and its statistics of 2012, which the International Diabetes Federation (IDF) published, show that over 371 million persons are injured with this disease around the world. It is expected that, by 2030, this number will double if the necessary measures are not taken to face it. They also confirm that more than a million extremity amputation cases are conducted every year all over the world.
 
It is thought that it is possible to avoid approximately 85% of these cases in case of providing the proper medical care in early stage.
 
Domestically, it turned out that 28% of Saudi diabetics belong to the 30-and-over age group, while the percentage of diabetics in the community as a whole was placed at 14,1%. Further, the genetic factor plays a great role to the effect that it accounts for 60% to 80% of the diabetes incidence. Also, the first-type diabetes, which inflicts children, results from a genetic disorder which occurs to children while being formed, and heredity has nothing to do with the injury. Dealing with the second type which inflicts children can be reversed through the healthy, sound methods such as losing weight and exercising.
 
Prevention:
 Following simple measures can improve lifestyles, and, Allah willing, prevent from diabetes or hold back its symptoms; such as maintaining a healthy weight within natural limits, at least 30 minutes of daily exercise, following a healthy diet containing three to five meals of fruits and vegetables daily, reducing the intake of sugar and saturated fats, as well as avoiding smoking, as it increases the risk of getting injured with the cardiovascular diseases. As such, the Health Awareness and Media Information Center of the Ministry of Health has designated the toll-free line: 800-2494444; to answer the callers' questions with regard to diabetes and other diseases; as well as receiving their questions at the MOH Twitter account (@saudimoh).
 
World Diabetes Day:  
The Ministry of Health (MOH) shares the world in celebrating the World Diabetes Day; to achieve the general objectives, as manifested in reinforcing and implementing the prevention and control policies of the diabetes and its complications, advocating and spreading the national initiatives aiming at combating diabetes and its complications, demonstrating the importance of the evidence-based education in treating diabetes and preventing from its complications, increasing the awareness of the warning signs of getting injured with diabetes, encouraging early diagnosis, boosting work on limiting the risk factors of the second type diabetes, and reinforcing work on preventing or  holding back the diabetes complications. Thus, the Ministry of Health (MOH) constantly seeks to enrich the world awareness of diabetes and its incidence rates, which are still increasing all over the world, as well as  how to put an end to the spread of the disease.
 
National Reference of Educating Diabetics: 
The Infectious Diseases General Department of the Ministry of Health has released the National Reference of Educating Diabetics. It is a directory tackling diabetes, known since ancient times, and which has been always one of the killing diseases.
 
It includes an overview of diabetes, and the role of education and training in treating this disease, familiarizing with its types, relation between pregnancy and diabetes, treatment types, and its severe complications. Then, it moves on to the relation of diabetes with sight problems as well as its relation with atherosclerosis, sexual matters, and stomach problems. The book further provides tips for diabetic patients during travel, instructions to be followed during fasting, and the preparations which the diabetic patients should make during the Hajj. Finally, the directory addresses the school life of the child injured with diabetes.

 

Last Update : 15 September 2013 08:25 AM
Reading times :

All Rights Reserved – Ministry of Health – Kingdom of Saudi Arabia ©

إصدارات وتقارير الوزارة

تقرير صحفي عن جهود وزارة الصحة في مجال التوعية بداء السكري

تحرص وزارة الصحة من خلال خطتها الإستراتيجية على تطبيق الطرق المنهجية والعلمية الحديثة؛ سعيًا لبناء مجتمع صحي أفضل يتمتع بالصحة والسلامة. ولقد كان وسيظل نشر الوعي الصحي العام والحد من انتشار الأمراض من أولويات حكومة خادم الحرمين الشريفين الملك عبدالله بن عبدالعزيز - حفظه الله.

وفي هذا السياق وتحت رعاية معالي وزير الصحة د.عبدالله بن عبدالعزيز الربيعة تدشن الوزارة البرنامج الوطني لمكافحة داء السكري في مرحلته الأولى التي ستنتظم كافة مناطق ومحافظات المملكة. ويهدف هذا البرنامج وتعزيز ونشر الوعي الصحي العام والحد من انتشار الأمراض؛ حيث تبنت وزارة الصحة تنفيذ منهجية موضوعية في كافة مجالات تقديم الخدمات الصحية، وقاية وعلاجًا وتأهيلاً من خلال منظومة مرافق متكاملة في سبيل الوصول إلى أمن صحي شامل للجميع.

ويأتي إطلاق هذه الحملة ضمن سلسلة من الحملات التوعية الصحية التي تطلقها على نطاق الوطن، والتي تأتي من خلال إستراتيجية الوزارة لتحسين وتطوير خدمات الرعاية الصحية بكافة مستوياتها.


الخطة التنفيذية الوطنية للتحكم في مرض السكر (2010-2020):
 
اعتمدت وزارة الصحة خطة تنفيذية وطنية ممتدة على 10 سنوات للتحكم في مرض السكري (2010-2020م) للمساعدة في وقاية المجتمع السعودي من هذا المرض، وهي الخطة التي ترتكز على مشاركة الحكومة كاملة وكافة المؤسسات الخاصة في فعالياتها. كما ترتكز الخطة على زيادة وتقوية الوعي الصحي بين أفراد المجتمع السعودي عن مرض السكري، والعوامل التي تزيد مخاطر الإصابة به، والعمل على تطوير برامج الكشف القديمة، وتقليل فرص الإصابة بهذا المرض ومضاعفاته. وتشتمل الخطة التنفيذية الوطنية على سبعة أهداف:

  • الهدف الأول: الوقاية الأولية من مرض السكري (النوع الثاني)، وتقليل معدلات فرص الإصابة بالمرض من خلال محاربة عوامل الخطر المؤدية إلى الإصابة بهذا المرض.
  • الهدف الثاني: الوقاية الثانوية من مرض السكري (النوع الثاني) من خلال الكشف المبكر للمرض ومضاعفاته، ومنعه عن طريق التحكم الجيد للسكر في الدم.
  • الهدف الثالث: تطوير جودة الخدمات الصحية عبر مستوياتها الثلاثة التي تقدم للمرضى الذين يعانون الإصابة بمرض السكري ومضاعفاته من خلال أدلة علاجية موحدة وجديدة مبنية على براهين يتم التوصل اليها لتطبيقها من قبل الفريق الطبي أثناء رعايته المباشرة لمرضى السكري؛ لضمان جودة عالية في إجراءات العمل. وعن طريق الامتثال لجودة هذه الخدمات، وإعداد دليل إرشادي موحد معتمد كمرجع لمعرفة الضوابط التي تحكم مستويات الرعاية الصحية الثلاثة.
  • الهدف الرابع: تطوير طرق رصد، ومتابعة، وتقييم المرضى من خلال برنامج تسجيل حالات مرض السكري، ومدى الامتثال لمستويات جودة العمل، وسجلات المتابعة السنوية، ومقابلات المرضى، وسجلات الرعاية الصحية الخاصة بالمرضى.
  • الهدف الخامس: القيام بعمل، وتطوير أدوات البحث والدراسات المتعلقة بالمرض.
  • الهدف السادس: تمكين مرضى السكري وأسرهم من المساهمة في التحكم في مرض السكري ومضاعفاته، والمشاركة في الخدمات المقدمة، ورصد جودة هذه الخدمات.
  • الهدف السابع: المشاركة المجتمعية في التحكم في مرض السكر.

البرنامج الوطني السعودي للتوعية ضد مرض السكر:

تماشيًا مع هذه الخطة التنفيذية الوطنية للتحكم في مرض السكري، قامت وزارة الصحة بإرساء فعاليات البرنامج الوطني السعودي للتوعية ضد مرض السكري، ويعمل هذا البرنامج على جميع المستويات (مسؤولو ومهنيو الرعاية الصحية، مرضى السكري، الجمهور السعودي بشكل عام). ويهدف البرنامج إلى إشراك مسؤولي الرعاية الصحية في تطبيقه، وتمكين مرضى السكري من استخدام الأدوات العلاجية التي تتضمن أجهزة لقياس سكر الجلوكوز في الدم وبرامج التعليم للعناية الذاتية بالسكري، وبرامج التدريب عبر الإنترنت، وزيادة الوعي العام لدى كافة شرائح المجتمع السعودي عن مرض السكري من خلال مشاركة مجتمعية نشطة.

عدد المراكز المتخصصة:

يبلغ عدد المراكز المتخصصة لمرضى السكر 20 مركزًا تابعة لوزارة الصحة، وجارٍ العمل على إنشاء 8 مراكز جديدة ستكون داعمة لها في جميع مناطق ومحافظات المملكة، وتحرص وزارة الصحة عبر إدارة مراكز ووحدات السكر بالإدارة العامة للمستشفيات على تقديم أفضل الخدمات الصحية لمرضى السكري، والعمل على تعزيز الوعي الصحي لكل مريض بالسكري أو كل شخص معرض مستقبلاً للإصابة بهذا المرض، وتقديم أفضل الخدمات الصحية والتثقيفية.

ماهية المرض وآثاره:

داء السكري عبارة عن مرض مزمن، إما نتيجة فشل البنكرياس في إنتاج هرمون الأنسولين بكميات كافية، أو فقدان الجسم القدرة على استخدام الأنسولين الذي ينتجه.
ويوجد هناك نوعان من مرض السكري، ويمثل السكري من النوع الثاني 90% من حالات مرضى السكري داخل المملكة، وتعد العادات الغذائية غير الصحية، ونقص التمارين الرياضية، وانتشار السمنة في الغالب من أسباب حدوث وتفاقم هذا المرض. 
ويُطلق أحيانًا على مرض السكري (القاتل الصامت)؛ لأن هذا المرض لا تتطور أعراضه بشكل دراماتيكي في جميع الأحيان، وربما تظل غير ملحوظة لفترة طويلة من الزمن. كما أن ارتفاع السكر الحاد في الدم، وهو النتيجة الشائعة لعدم التحكم في مرض السكر داخل الجسم مع مرور الوقت يؤدي إلى حدوث تلف خطير للعديد من أعضاء الجسم، خاصة الأعصاب والأوعية الدموية.
ويمكن أن يتسبب السكري - مع مرور الوقت - في إلحاق أضرار بالقلب والأوعية الدموية والعينين والكليتين والأعصاب، ويزيد مخاطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والسكتة الدماغية، كما أن اعتلال الشبكية السكري من الأسباب الرئيسة المؤدية إلى العمى، ويحدث نتيجة تراكم طويل المدى للأضرار التي تلحق بالأوعية الدموية الصغيرة الموجودة في الشبكية، وبعد التعايش مع السكري لمدة 15 عامًا يُصاب نحو 2% من المرضى بالعمى ويُصاب نحو 10% بحالات وخيمة من ضعف البصر، وأن نحو 80% من وفيات السكري تحدث في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل.
وهناك حالة تعرف بــ(قدم السكري)، وتشمل ضعف الإحساس، والقرح التي لا تلتئم، ولين العظام، والغرغرينا، والمضاعفات الأخرى التي تنتج عن تلف الأعصاب، وقلة تدفق الدم داخل القدم؛ نتيجة مرض السكري.

حجم المشكلة:

تُظهر تقديرات منظمة الصحة العالمية وإحصاءاتها لعام 2012م، والتي قام الاتحاد الدولي لمرض السكري بنشرها أن نحو 371 مليون شخص مصاب بهذا المرض حول العالم، ومن المتوقع أن يتضاعف هذا الرقم بحلول عام 2030م إذا لم تتخذ الإجراءات الضرورية لمواجهته. وتؤكد أن ما يزيد على مليون حالة بتر للأطراف تجرى كل عام في جميع أنحاء العالم.
 
ويُعتقد أن تفادي ما يقارب 85% من هذه الحالات ممكن في حال توافر العناية الطبية الملائمة في مرحلة مبكرة.

وعلى مستوى المملكة، فقد اتضح أن 28% من المصابين بداء السكري للفئة العمرية فوق 30 عامًا فيما بلغت نسبة المصابين بداء السكري في مجمل المجتمع 14.1%.

ويلعب العامل الوراثي دورًا كبيرًا يمثل ما نسبته من 60 إلى 80 % في نسبة الإصابة، كما أن داء السكر الذي يصيب الأطفال من النوع الأول ناتج عن خلل جيني يحدث لدى الأطفال عند التخلق، وليس للوراثة أي شأن في الإصابة. كما أن التعامل مع هذا النوع الثاني الذي يصيب الأطفال يمكن تجاوزه باتباع الطرق الصحية السليمة كتخفيف الوزن وممارسة الرياضة.

الوقاية من المرض:

إن انتهاج تدابير بسيطة يمكن أن تحسن أنماط الحياة، وتقي - بإذن الله - من مرض السكري أو تأخر ظهوره، كالمحافظة على وزن صحي وفي حدوده الطبيعية، وممارسة النشاط البدني بما لا يقل عن 30 دقيقة من النشاط البدني، واتباع نظام غذائي صحي يحتوي من ثلاث إلى خمس وجبات من الفاكهة والخضراوات كل يوم، والتقليل من تناول السكر والدهون المشبعة، بالإضافة إلى أهمية تجنب تعاطي التبغ؛ لأن التدخين يزيد مخاطر الإصابة بالأمراض القلبية الوعائية، وقد خصص مركز معلومات الإعلام والتوعية الصحية بوزارة الصحة الخط المجاني رقم 8002494444 للإجابة عن أسئلة المتصلين فيما يتعلق بمرض السكري وغيره من الأمراض، أو إرسال أسئلتهم على حساب وزارة الصحة في موقع التواصل الاجتماعي تويتر @saudimoh.

اليوم العالمي لمكافحة داء السكري:

تشارك وزارة الصحة دول العالم الاحتفاء باليوم العالمي لمكافحة الداء لتحقيق الأهداف العامة المتمثلة في تعزيز وتنفيذ سياسات الوقاية والسيطرة على مرض السكري ومضاعفاته، ودعم نشر المبادرات الوطنية لمكافحة مرض السكري ومضاعفاته، وتوضيح أهمية التثقيف القائم على الأدلة في علاج مرض السكري والوقاية من مضاعفاته، وزيادة الوعي بالعلامات التحذيرية للإصابة بمرض السكري، وتشجيع التشخيص المبكر، وتعزيز العمل على الحد من عوامل الخطر لمرض السكري من النوع الثاني، وتعزيز العمل لمنع أو تأخير مضاعفات مرض السكري، وتسعى وزارة الصحة - دائمًا - إلى إذكاء الوعي العالمي بداء السكري ومعدلات وقوعه التي ما زالت تزداد في شتى أنحاء العالم، وبكيفية توقي المرض في معظم الحالات.

المرجع الوطني لتثقيف مرضى داء السكري:

أصدرت الإدارة العامة للأمراض غير المعدية بوزارة الصحة المرجع الوطني لتثقيف مرضى داء السكري، وهو دليل يتناول مرض السكري المعروف منذ القدم، والذي كان يعد من الأمراض القاتلة.
تضمن لمحة عن داء السكري ودور التعليم والتدريب في علاج هذا المرض، والتعريف به وبأنواعه، وعلاقة الحمل بمرض السكري، وأنواع العلاج، والمضاعفات الحادة له، ثم يتناول علاقة داء السكري بالعين، وأيضًا علاقته بتصلب الشرايين، والمشكلات الجنسية، ومشكلات المعدة، ثم يقدم الكتاب نصائح لمريض السكري أثناء السفر، والتعليمات الواجب اتباعها أثناء الصيام، والاستعدادات التي يجب أن يقوم بها مريض السكري أثناء الحج، كما تناول أيضًا الحياة المدرسية للطفل المصاب بداء السكري.

​​​
آخر تعديل : 05 ذو القعدة 1434 هـ 12:51 م
عدد القراءات :

جميع الحقوق محفوظة – وزارة الصحة – المملكة العربية السعودية ©