International Events

Marburg Virus Disease
 


Overview:
Marburg Virus Disease (MVD), formerly known as Marburg haemorrhagic fever, is a severe and highly fatal disease. Marburg and Ebola viruses are both members of the Filoviridae family (filovirus). Though caused by different viruses, the two diseases are clinically similar. Both diseases are rare and have the capacity to cause outbreaks with high fatality rates.
Geography of MVD Outbreak:
Two large outbreaks that occurred simultaneously in Marburg and Frankfurt in Germany, and in Belgrade, Serbia, in 1967, led to the initial recognition of the disease. The outbreak was associated with laboratory work using African green monkeys (Cercopithecus aethiops) imported from Uganda. Subsequently, outbreaks and sporadic cases have been reported in Angola, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kenya, South Africa (in a person with recent travel history to Zimbabwe) and Uganda.
Disease Definition:
MVD is a highly virulent disease that causes haemorrhagic fever with malaise, headache, muscle aches, a sore throat, followed by vomiting, diarrhoea, then skin rash, haemorrhage often with liver damage, renal failure, and thrombocytopenia.
Incubation Period:
From 3 to 9 days.
Infectious Period:
Fever often occurs in response to infection that increases with the development of the disease stages, and continues through the period of contamination of blood or body fluids with the virus. Marburg virus transmission, via infected semen, has been documented up to seven weeks after clinical recovery.
Source of Infection:
The source of infection has not yet been known exactly despite extensive research conducted on the topic.
Methods of Disease Transmission:
  1. ​The disease is transmitted through close contact with an infected person’s blood, secretions, organs, or via sexual intercourse.
  2. Transmission, also, occurs through the use of contaminated syringes and needles at healthcare centres and hospitals.
Diagnosis:
Marburg Virus Tests: Antibody or serology tests are conducted to look for antibodies in your blood that fight the virus that causes the disease, in addition to Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) Tests.
Treatment:
Currently there are no vaccines or antiviral treatments approved for MVD. However, the supportive care is the only therapy that improves survival. The therapy includes isolation, balancing fluids and minerals in the patient's body, while maintaining the blood oxygen level and blood pressure, as well as replacing the lost blood and clotting factors. Doctors also monitor any complications that may appear, and treat any infections that may affect the patient during this period.
Disease Prevention:
Currently, there is no vaccine or antiviral treatment approved for MVD.
Source: 

Last Update : 28 July 2022 11:56 AM
Reading times :

All Rights Reserved – Ministry of Health – Kingdom of Saudi Arabia ©

الأحداث الدولية

فيروس ماربورغ
   

​(26 يوليو 2022م)

حمى ماربورغ النزفية:
حمى ماربورغ النزفية مرض وخيم، وشديد الفتك بالناس يسبّبه فيروس من الفصيلة نفسها التي ينتمي إليها الفيروس المسبّب لحمى الإيبولا النزفية. وهناك تشابه تام، من الناحية السريرية، بين حمى ماربورغ النزفية وحمى الإيبولا النزفية على الرغم من اختلاف الفيروسين المسبّبين لهما. وكلا الفيروسين نادرين، غير أنّهما يحدثان فاشيات وخيمة تتسم بمعدلات وفيات مرتفعة. 
الحدوث الجغرافي: 
أدّت فاشية كبرى ألمّت بمركزين واقعين في ماربورغ بألمانيا وبلغراد بجمهورية يوغسلافيا السابقة، في عام 1967، إلى الكشف عن المرض لأوّل مرّة. وقد عُزي وقوع تلك الفاشية إلى أنشطة مختبرية تستعمل نسانيس إفريقية خضراء (Cercopithecus aethiops) استوردت من أوغندا. وتم الإبلاغ - لاحقًا - عن حدوث فاشيات وحالات متقرّقة في أنغولا، وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، وكينيا، وجنوب إفريقيا (شخص تبيّن أنّه سافر إلى زمبابوي وأوغندا قبل إصابته).
وصف المرض: 
حمى ماربورغ النزفية مرض فيروسي حاد وخطير يبدأ بشكل فجائي بحمى، وفتور، وصداع، وألم بالعضلات والحلق، ويعقب ذلك قيء، وإسهال ثم طفح جلدي، ونزف، وكثيرًا ما يكون مصحوبًا بتلف كبدي، وفشل كلوي، وقلة الصفائح الدموية. 
فترة الحضانة: 
3- 9 أيام.
مدة العدوى: 
لا تبدأ العدوى قبل ظهور الحمى، وتزداد بتطور مراحل المرض، وتستمر طوال فترة تلوث الدم وإفرازات الجسم بالفيروس. ينتقل الفيروس عن طريق السائل المنوي لمدة تصل إلى 7 أسابيع بعد الشفاء السريري.
مصدر العدوى: 
غير معروف على وجه الدقة على الرغم من الأبحاث المكثفة التي أجريت حول هذا الموضوع.
طرق الانتقال: 
  1. من شخص لآخر بالتماس المباشر مع دم المصاب، أو الإفرازات، أو الأعضاء، أو الاتصال الجنسي.
  2. عدوى مكتسبة في المراكز الصحية والمستشفيات من خلال استخدام المحاقن والإبر الملوثة.
التشخيص:
عن طريق الفحوصات المخبرية؛ لقياس الأجسام المضادة للفيروس، بالإضافة إلى فحص تفاعل البوليميريز المتسلسل (PCR).
العلاج:
علاج فيروس ماربورغ الوحيد المستخدم - حاليًّا - هو العلاج الداعم في المستشفى. ويتضمن هذا العلاج العزل، وموازنة السوائل والمعادن في جسم المريض مع الحفاظ على حالة الأوكسجين وضغط الدم، واستبدال الدم المفقود وعوامل التخثر. ويراقب الأطباء - أيضًا - أي مضاعفات يمكن أن تظهر، وعلاج أي عدوى يمكن أن تصيب المريض خلال هذه الفترة.
الوقاية من المرض: 
لم يتوصل العلماء إلى دواء أو لقاح نوعي؛ لعلاج عدوى فيروس ماربورغ.
المصدر: 
آخر تعديل : 27 ذو الحجة 1443 هـ 11:31 م
عدد القراءات :

جميع الحقوق محفوظة – وزارة الصحة – المملكة العربية السعودية ©