Child Health
Breastfeeding
​Breastfeeding Support: Close to Mothers
  
Breastfeeding support is this year's pivotal concern. And the breastfeeding support circles illustrate the potential influences on a mother's decision to breastfeed and to have a positive breastfeeding experience. Previously featured during World Breastfeeding Week 2008, the Circles of Support continue to be a vital foundation for mothers to breastfeed their babies.
 
The Circles of Support are:
  1. Family and Social Network
  2. Healthcare Systems
  3. Workplace and Employment
  4. Government/ Legislation
  5. Response to Crisis or Emergency 
  6. Women
     Circles.jpg
 Family and Social Network:
Husbands/partners/fathers, family and friends compose the mother's immediate and continuous support network. Social support includes community support - at the market place, within a religious context, at a neighbourhood park, etc. Support during pregnancy reduces stress. Support during labour and birth empowers the mother. Societal support increases the mother's confidence in her ability to breastfeed beyond the early weeks and months.
 
Healthcare Systems:
This includes a multitude of opportunities to support breast feeding. These opportunities range from mother friendly prenatal care and supportive labor and delivery services to postpartum and postnatal care that facilitates bonding and optimal infant feeding. Health workers trained in counseling skills support mothers before and after birth.
 
Workplace and Employment:
Employed women face challenges and need support to succeed at working and breastfeeding. The opportunities for mother support are as varied as the work women do, but usually involve facilitating mother-baby contact or expression and storage of breast milk.
 
Government/ Legislation:
Women who plan to breastfeed or who are already breastfeeding benefit from the support of international documents, protections for optimal infant feeding, plus active and well funded national commissions. Legislation that combats aggressive marketing of breastmilk substitutes and enacts paid maternity leave also benefits breastfeeding women.
 
Response to Crisis or Emergency:
This circle of support represents the need for support IF a woman finds herself in an unexpected and / or serious situation, with little control. Situations that require special planning and support are: natural disasters, refugee camps, divorce proceedings, critical illness of mother or baby, or living in an area of high HIV/AIDS prevalence with no support for breastfeeding.
 
Women:
Women are in the center because the presence or absence of support impacts them directly. Women also have an important role in securing support and in providing it to others. Within the Global Initiative for Mother Support (GIMS) for Breastfeeding Statement (2007) we noted, 'Mothers are considered active participants in the support dynamic, being both providers and recipients of information and support'.
 
Up to what age can a baby stay well nourished by just being breastfed?

Infants should be exclusively breastfed – i.e. receive only breast milk – for the first six months of life to achieve optimal growth, development and health. "Exclusive breastfeeding" is defined as giving no other food or drink – not even water – except breast milk. It does, however, allow the infant to receive oral rehydration salts (ORS), drops and syrups (vitamins, minerals and medicines). Breast milk is the ideal food for the healthy growth and development of infants; breastfeeding is also an integral part of the reproductive process with important implications for the health of mothers.
 
WHO recommends that infants start receiving complementary foods at six months (180 days) of age in addition to breast milk. Foods should be adequate, meaning that they provide sufficient energy, protein and micronutrients to meet a growing child's nutritional needs. Foods should be prepared and given in a safe manner to minimize the risk of contamination. Feeding young infants requires active care and stimulation to encourage the child to eat.
 
The transition from exclusive breastfeeding to full use of family foods is a very vulnerable period. It is the time when many infants become malnourished, contributing significantly to the high prevalence of malnutrition in children under five years of age worldwide. It is essential therefore that infants receive appropriate, adequate and safe complementary foods to ensure the right transition from the breastfeeding period to the full use of family foods.
 
Amounts of foods to offer: 
 
Amount at each meal Frequency
Texture  Age
Start with 2–3 tablespoonfuls per feed, increasing gradually to ½ of a 250 ml cup. 2–3 meals per day, plus frequent breastfeeds.
Depending on the child's appetite, 1–2 snacks may be offered.
 Start with thick porridge, well mashed foods.
Continue with mashed family foods.
 6–8 month
½ of a 250 ml cup/bowl. 3–4 meals per day, plus breastfeeds.
Depending on the child's appetite, 1–2 snacks may be offered. Finely chopped or mashed foods, and foods that baby can pick up. 9–11 months
¾ to full 250 ml cup/bowl. 3–4 meals per day, plus breastfeeds.
Depending on the child's appetite, 1–2 snacks may be offered.
 Family foods, chopped or mashed if necessary. 12–23 months
 
Note: If baby is not breastfed, give in addition: 1–2 cups of milk per day, and 1–2 extra meals per day.
 
 
Age Texture Frequency Amount at each meal
​6–8 months
​Start with thick porridge, well mashed foods
Continue with mashed family foods
​ 2–3 meals per day, plus frequent breastfeeds
Depending on the child's appetite, 1–2 snacks may be offered
​Start with 2–3 tablespoonfuls per feed, increasing gradually to ½ of a 250 ml cup
​9–11 months
​Finely chopped or mashed foods, and foods that baby can pick up
​3–4 meals per day, plus breastfeeds
Depending on the child's appetite, 1–2 snacks may be offered
​½ of a 250 ml cup/bowl
​12–23 months
 
​ Family foods, chopped or mashed if necessary
​3–4 meals per day, plus breastfeeds
Depending on the child's appetite, 1–2 snacks may be offered
​¾ to full 250 ml cup/bowl
 
Note: If baby is not breastfed, give in addition: 1–2 cups of milk per day, and 1–2 extra meals per day.
 
 
 
 
Content Evaluation
Reading times
Last Update 07 March 2018 09:07 AM
Do you find this content useful? Yes No Suggest
Satisfaction of visitorsA sign of happiness
Satisfaction of visitors Completely satisfied Satisfied Neutral Not Satisfied Completely dissatisfied
This site can be viewed on all screen tones and all smart devices and supports all kinds of browsers
All Rights Reserved – Ministry of Health – Kingdom of Saudi Arabia ©

*
*
*

حرف متبقي
 
|
فوائد التسجيل
07 محرم 1436 هـ
إضافة إلى المفضلة طباعة الصفحة إرسال إلى صديق
الرضاعة الطبيعية

 
 دعم الرضاعة الطبيعية.. القرب من الأمهات 
 
دعم الرضاعة الطبيعية هي الفكرة الأساسية  لهذا العام، ودوائر  الدعم الخمس للرضاعة الطبيعية توضّح التأثير الفعّال والضمني لقرار الأم الذي تتخذه بشأن إرضاع وليدها والإقدام على التجربة الإيجابية في مجال الإرضاع. و قد سبق التعرض لها خلال الأسبوع العالمي للرضاعة الطبيعية 2008م، وتظل دوائر الدعم تمثل القاعدة الأساسية التي ترتكز عليها الأمهات عند إرضاع مواليدهن.
عناصر مجموعة دعم الأمهات والأطفال:
  1. الأسرة والشبكة الاجتماعية.
  2. نظم الرعاية الصحية.
  3. أماكن العمل.
  4. الحكومة والتشريعات.
  5. الاستجابة للأزمات وحالات الطوارئ.
  6. الأم. 

 

 الأسرة والشبكات الاجتماعية:
الأزواج  والآباء والأسرة والأصدقاء هم شبكة الدعم المباشرة والمستمرة  للأم في الرضاعة الطبيعية.
ويتضمن أيضًا  الدعم الاجتماعي دعم المجتمع، والذي يظهر في الأسواق  أو المساجد أو تجمعات الحي.
يساعد توفير الدعم أثناء الحمل على  الحد من التوتر. كما أنه  يمنح الأم القوة أثناء المخاض والولادة، ويرفع من ثقتها في قدراتها على الإرضاع حتى إلى ما بعد الأسابيع الأولى، بل والأشهر الأولى بعد الولادة.
 
نظم الرعاية الصحية:
وهي تشتمل على العديد من الفرص لدعم الرضاعة الطبيعية. وتتفاوت الفرص من مصادقة الأم في مرحلة العناية السابقة للولادة والدعم أثناء المخاض والولادة، ثم الخدمات التي تلحق ذلك؛ أي العناية التي تساعد على الترابط بين الأم ووليدها وإرضاعه.
 
 وهنا يقوم العاملون والمدربون على مهارات الاستشارات الصحية بمساعدة الأمهات قبل الولادة وبعدها.
 
أماكن العمل:
تواجه المرأة العاملة تحديات  جمّة، وهي بحاجة إلى الدعم لكي تنجح في العمل وفي عملية الرضاعة  الطبيعية على حد سواء.

إن الفرص الممنوحة لدعم الأم متنوعة وفقًا لأنواع العمل الذي تمارسه المرأة، ولكنها عادة ما تتعلق بتسهيل العلاقة المتبادلة بين الأم والطفل أو التعبير أو كيفية حفظ حليب الأم.
 
الحكومة والتشريعات:
تستفيد المرأة التي ترضع وليدها أو التي تخطط لإرضاع وليدها من دعم الوثائق الدولية، وحماية الرضاعة الحصرية للمواليد، إضافة إلى الهيئات الوطنية النشطة والممولة. كذلك تتصدى التشريعات للحملات التسويقية المروجة للحليب البديل، وتدعم وتعزّز  أيضًا إجازات الأمومة، وهذا  جميعه يصب في مصلحة الأمهات المرضع.

الاستجابة في حالات الطوارئ أو الأزمات:
وهي الحاجة إلى دعم الأم في حالة تعرضها إلى أي وضع غير متوقع أو إلى أزمة ما، دون أن يكون لها القدرة على التحكم. كبعض الحالات التي تتطلب تخطيطًا معينًا ودعمًا مستمرًا، مثل : الكوارث الطبيعية، مخيمات اللاجئين، وبعض تبعات قضايا الطلاق، والأمراض المستعصية التي يتعرض لها المولود أو الأم، أو بعض المناطق التي ترتفع فيها نسبة الإصابة بفيروس نقص المناعة أو الإيدز دون توفر الدعم الكافي للرضاعة الطبيعية.
 
الأمهات:
النساء يقعن في وسط الدائرة؛ لأن وجود أو غياب الدعم يؤثر عليهن بشكل مباشر. كما أن للنساء دورًا  مهمًّا في تأمين الدعم وتوفيره للآخرين. وقد جاء في تصريح المبادرة العالمية لدعم الأمهات لعام 2007م أن "الأمهات كن مشاركات نشطات في الدعم، حيث كن مقدِّمات للدعم ومتلقيات  للمعلومات في الوقت ذاته".

حتى متى يمكن إرضاع الطفل بإعطائه لبن الثدي ممّا يحقّق له الاكتفاء؟
 
ينبغي الاقتصار على الرضاعة الطبيعية لتغذية الرضّع، أي تغذيتهم بلبن الثدي فقط، طيلة الأشهر الستة الأولى من حياتهم لضمان المستوى الأمثل من النمو والنماء والصحة. يُعرّف مصطلح "الاقتصار على الرضاعة الطبيعية" بـ: الامتناع عن إعطاء الرضّع أيّة أغذية أو مشروبات أخرى - حتى الماء - باستثناء لبن الثدي. غير أنّ ذلك المفهوم يجيز إعطاء الرضّع القطرات والمحاليل (الفيتامينات والمعادن والأدوية). والجدير بالذكر أنّ لبن الثدي هو الغذاء الأمثل لنمو الرضّع ونمائهم بطريقة صحية؛ كما أنه عنصر أساسي من العملية الإنجابية، وله انعكاسات مهمة على صحة الأمهات.
 
وتوصي منظمة الصحة العالمية بضرورة البدء بإعطاء الرضّع أغذية مكمّلة إضافة إلى لبن الثدي عند بلوغهم الشهر السادس (180 يومًا). وينبغي أن تكون تلك الأغذية ملائمة، بمعنى أنه ينبغي أن توفّر كمية كافية من الطاقة والبروتينات والعناصر زهيدة المقدار؛ كي تلبي احتياجات الطفل الغذائية وتضمن نموّه بشكل جيد.
 
وينبغي تحضير تلك الأغذية وإعطاؤها بطرق مأمونة؛ للحد من أخطار التلوّث، ويُشجع الرضيع على الأكل.
ويُعد الانتقال من مرحلة الاقتصار على الرضاعة الطبيعية إلى مرحلة الاستخدام الكامل لأغذية الأسرة في الفترات التي يكون فيها الطفل سريع التأثّر، فتلك هي الفترة التي يعاني فيها الكثير من الرضّع من سوء التغذية، وهي التي تسهم كثيرًا في زيادة انتشار سوء التغذية لدى الأطفال دون سن الخامسة في جميع أنحاء العالم؛ وعليه فإنّه من الضروري إعطاء الأطفال أغذية مكمّلة مناسبة وكافية؛ لضمان الانتقال، على نحو سليم، من مرحلة لبن الثدي إلى مرحلة الاستخدام الكامل لأغذية الأسرة.
مقادير الأغذية التي ينبغي إعطاؤها :

ملحوظة:
في حالة عدم اعتماد الطفل على الرضاعة الطبيعية في تغذيته، يجب إعطاؤه بالإضافة إلى ذلك كوبًا إلى كوبين من الحليب يوميًّا، و1-2 وجبة إضافية يوميًّا.
 
عدد القراءات: | آخر تعديل 21 رمضان 1434 هـ